Group of award winners with trophies
Confor 2023 Award winners

RSFS & Cashel honoured by SFT award at Confor dinner

As part of the celebrations of the 40th Anniversary of the Scottish Forestry Trust, the body created a special award for ‘Education and Outreach’ based on the projects they had supported over the four decades. The prize – a beautiful wooden trophy made from elm by woodturner Angus Clyne – was awarded to RSFS for its work carried out at Cashel Forest. SFT Chair Paul Atkinson said: ‘The centre serves as a demonstration of sound forestry practice for the benefit of the public.’

RSFS President Wilma Harper (pictured second from right), who accepted the award on behalf of the Society at the Confor annual dinner, said: 'I was delighted to attend the Confor Awards dinner as a guest of the Scottish Forestry Trust and receive this special award for education and outreach. It is a tremendous accolade for the Society and for Cashel and a tribute to all those who have worked so hard over many years to make Cashel what it is.'

Winners of Confor awards included BH Wildlife Consultancy, whose Ben Harrower is an RSFS member, and Forestry and Land Scotland, jointly taking the Innovation and Research prize for their aerial drone surveys for deer management, featured in the last edition of our journal Scottish Forestry. The Future Leader winner was Neil White, who oversees RSFS corporate member Scottish Woodlands' graduate programme.

A full report of the event and the award winners can be found here.